OutStart Merges with Mobile Leader Hot Lava Software

Boston – June 8, 2009 – OutStart, Inc., the leader in social business software and learning systems, has extended the reach of its solutions by merging with mobile leader Hot Lava Software, a company with applications for reaching the world’s estimated 4.1 billion mobile cellular subscribers.   The newly combined companies will conduct business as OutStart.  Massood Zarrabian continues as CEO and president of OutStart, while Bob Sanregret, CEO of Hot Lava Software, becomes vice president of the OutStart Hot Lava Mobile business unit. 

“Increasingly, we’ve seen customers express keen interest in mobile pilots and applications,” said Zarrabian.  “We identified Hot Lava Software as the leader in both mobile technology and, with over 1,000,000 registered users, customer implementations. Merging with Hot Lava enables us to leap far ahead of our industry in support of mobile requirements.” 

OutStart will make use of Hot Lava’s patent-pending technology to develop, deliver and track mobile content for everything from product training to assessments, surveys, job aids and checklists.  OutStart plans to incorporate Hot Lava Mobile capabilities in its social business software and learning systems as well as offer Hot Lava Mobile as a stand-alone solution.

Three things make Hot Lava Mobile unique.  First, developers can rapidly create content once that will then run on virtually any type of mobile device.  Hot Lava Mobile will automatically adjust the content to best display on the vast array of mobile devices in use today.  Second, Hot Lava applications can be deployed via WAP or downloaded directly to the mobile device.  And third, Hot Lava Mobile tracks usage of mobile content and automatically fires off immediate feedback to managers, system administrators and applications, such as learning management systems.   

“From executives to yak herders, mobile devices are in the hands of billions of people around the globe,” said Bob Sanregret, CEO of Hot Lava Software.  “If forced to choose, people would rather leave their house without their car keys than without their mobile device.  Mobile applications have tremendous reach and a vast array of uses; we developed Hot Lava Mobile to serve this incredible market. 

“Merging with OutStart provides Hot Lava with additional resources and a link to OutStart customers who will enable us to better take advantage of the incredible potential that mobile offers,” added Sanregret.

Hot Lava Mobile’s Key Components:

  • Hot Lava Mobile Desktop Authoring
    -An easy-to-use desktop authoring tool for building content once for deployment across 98 percent of all mobile phones.
  • Hot Lava Mobile Delivery and Tracking
    -Delivers content via WAP or directly to mobile devices.
    -Automatically tracks: who accesses mobile content; how often they access the content; a learner’s ID; and, the scores from surveys and quizzes thus providing feedback to an instructor, learner or even a learning management system.

To see OutStart Hot Lava Mobile in action, take a survey now from your mobile device. Go to http://goalwap.com.

OutStart is offering a webinar to showcase Hot Lava Mobile.  Anyone can register for the webinar by following one of the links below:

• June 11 @ 10:30 a.m. PDT / 1:30 p.m. EDT
(6:30 p.m. GMT / 7:30 p.m. CET):
https://outstart.webex.com/outstart/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=688736740
• June 11 @ 2:30pm GMT / 3:30pm CET
(6:30 a.m. PDT / 9:30 a.m. EDT):
https://outstart.webex.com/outstart/onstage/g.php?t=a&d=687519528

[1]On September 25, 2008, International Telecommunication Union Secretary-General Hamadoun Touré announced in New York that worldwide mobile cellular subscribers are likely to reach the 4 billion mark before the end of 2008.

About OutStart

At OutStart, we’re out to solve a big problem. 

Most organizations posses a wealth of underutilized collective intelligence around their products, services, and processes.  This underutilization negatively impacts employees, customers, and partners, costing precious time and money while hindering performance.  Said simply, “what your people don’t know will hurt you.”  

OutStart’s social business software and learning systems act like a lifeline:  connecting people to the know-how, creativity, and learning they require to be efficient, effective, and agile. 

Since its inception in 1999, and backed by leading venture capital firms, OutStart has matured into a profitable and rapidly growing company with an impressive range of customers who are surpassing expectations and delivering exceptional business results.  The company is honored to have customers like Autodesk, BB&T, Boeing Company, BT, CVS Caremark, DIRECTV, EDS, Internal Revenue Service, Lufthansa, McDonald’s, MetLife, Prudential, TiVo, Australian Defence Force, U.S. Navy, UK Ministry of Defence, Verizon Wireless, and Yum! Brands.

# # #

Media Contacts:
Bill Perry
MARCH 24 Media LLC
614 975 7538
bperry@march24media.com
http://www.outstart.com
Kerri Renshaw
OutStart
617-897-6800
krenshaw@outstart.com
http://www.outstart.com